Day 11.

28 Mar

Working out in Chicago is fabulous! Ginny and I went for a walk yesterday morning, and then this morning I did Week 4, Day 2 of the program, and everyone is really friendly, Hyde Park is a beautiful neighborhood, and the weather is actually really nice for being outside in the morning. Plus, I orchestrated both workouts around finishing at Starbucks — a venue that Gettysburg is desperately lacking.

I’ve decided to repeat Week 4 next week, primarily on the treadmill, but I really need to up my speeds. The GPS indicated that I traveled a much further distance today than any time I’ve been on a treadmill, and I walked for almost the entire workout. My “land” walking must be a good bit faster than my rate on the treadmill, so I need to up that. I think it might be just below where I’ve been jogging on the treadmill. So, on the days I make it to the gym when I’m not doing the C25K program, I think I’ll just hop on the treadmill and start at a slow pace, but get just a little faster every minute or two, until I’m at a more realistic pace.

At this point, I know I could walk a 5K, but it would probably take me an hour. Ideally, I’d like to finish in 45 minutes, which either means much faster walking (definitely possible) or alternating walking and jogging (most likely possible, but will require more work). I think I’ll have a better sense of all of this once I start jogging for longer periods of time on the workout plan.

Now it’s off to a morning of work with my colleagues, and after lunch, I’m free! Today I think I’m going to head to the science museum, because it’s right in this neighborhood (and they just opened a sweet new Mythbusters exhibit that sounds awesome), and then just take some time to relax. Probably at Starbucks. Tomorrow might include the art museum (thanks to an LSTC student who has a free ticket and guest pass!), Centennial Park (I’m definitely going to see the Bean), and an architecture tour on the river. Then Friday, I’ll probably leave relatively early in the day because I’d like to go see the ELCA churchwide offices — and coincidentally, all of the ELCA seminary presidents will be there, so maybe I’ll run into some familiar faces! Higgins Road isn’t far from O’Hare, so I’ll head over there a little after lunch and just have some downtime before heading to Pittsburgh. Good stuff!

One Response to “Day 11.”

  1. bys121 March 28, 2012 at 11:10 am #

    You do lead a charmed life, Missy. So happy for you. And proud. Don’t forget proud.
    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

