Day 10.

26 Mar

This morning, I worked out at the YMCA near my parents’ house. It was okay — I’m not feeling stellar, or like it was my best workout, but I did it. It’s most likely because yesterday was a long day that included church, driving to Frederick, attending an ordination and commissioning, having dinner with Dana, and then driving from Frederick to Baltimore. It was a really wonderful day, and I’m so glad I was able to see good friends I haven’t seen in a while (and I’m especially glad I got to spend some time with Dana!), but it was exhausting. So I know now that I really need to get a good night’s sleep before I work out, or else the whole thing will feel sluggish.

In today’s plan, there were five-minute jogging segments, and I was pretty proud of how I pushed through them. On the second (of two), I slowed it back down to a brisk walk with about a minute and a half left in the segment, but other than that, I was able to keep up. Again, at a pace that I think is much slower than where I want to be, but at this point, I think I need to focus on endurance rather than speed. After I know that I can do those 3.1 miles at a steady pace, without getting exhausted and wanting to rest, then I can start working on how fast I can go. As I said, I don’t have the highest of expectations regarding being able to jog the Pickle Chase, but I’m hoping I can do so for The Color Run.

Alright, I’m off to finish getting ready and then I’m heading to Chicago! After a few days of work and a few days of just being kind of touristy in the city, I’ll be off to Pittsburgh for my best friend’s bridal shower on Sunday. It should be a fun week!

Leave a Reply

