Day 9.

24 Mar

Ay yi yi. I’m really wishing that my jogging was more consistent, and that I was able to jog faster. I’m nervous about the coming weeks that are bringing longer periods of jogging. I just finished Week 3, and at the end of Week 5, I’m supposed to jog for 20 minutes. At this point, I’m thinking that’s going to be impossible. I have six weeks of the program left to go, and seven weeks until the 5K — so I’m thinking about starting Week 4 next week (which I’ll be doing almost entirely outside, since I’m out of town next week), then repeating it the week after, doing the same workout but trying to up the pace on my jogging. Then maybe I’ll be ready for jogging 20 minutes.

Despite some of the frustrations I have, I’m feeling really good about my progress. I know that a few weeks ago, there’s no way I would have been able to jog for three minutes, even at the slow pace I’m going now. Luckily, I’m not concerned with how long it will take me to complete the 5K in May (though I’d like to not be the last person to cross the finish line…), so it’s really about consistency and endurance.

Looking ahead to next week, I’ll most likely work out at the fancy schmancy YMCA in Perry Hall on Monday, then Wednesday and Friday I’ll be in Chicago. On Wednesday, I’ll probably jog around Hyde Park in the morning, or after our meetings are over. Friday, I’m thinking I’ll jog along Lake Michigan, where I’m sure I’ll be lapped by actual runners, but you can’t beat the view. I’m pretty excited to work out in a new place, so we’ll see how that goes!

Leave a Reply

