Days 6 & 7.

20 Mar

This weekend, I was back at my parents’ house and managed to get in two great workouts. On Friday, I went to the YMCA in Perry Hall for a little bit of cardio and some strength-building. The YMCA in Perry Hall (and I’m sure elsewhere, but I only know about this one) has an “Away Plan,” where members of other Ys can get 14 visits to their facility a year, for free. Pretty sweet deal! Especially since this Y is really new and has some fantastic equipment. Every cardio machine (treadmills, ellipticals, bikes, and I think even the stepper) has its own individual TV with a headphone jack. I’m pretty sure if the Y up here had that, I’d never leave. All of the “regular” members of the Y also get a code to put into all of the strength machines, and it keeps track of how much they’ve lifted over time. I definitely had some gym envy while I was there.

So, I did about 20 minutes on the elliptical, then spent about 25 minutes doing various strength exercises, mostly focusing on my legs. They had one machine that has you do standing calf raises, but while lifting some weight using your shoulder. I did three sets of 10 reps on that one, and I’m only just now not having immense calf tightness all the time! It was serious business.

On Saturday, it was gorgeous out, so my mom and I packed up Gracie, our family’s miniature dachshund, in the car and drove the very short distance to the regional park. There was a lacrosse tournament going on, so there were lots of people around, including other joggers on the trail around the park. Kind of your quintessential Saturday morning at the park. We walked together, and I would jog ahead during the jogging portion (Saturday was day six of C25K, since Friday was that “fourth workout” I’m adding in), then mom and Gracie would catch up. I’m still not able to jog as steadily, or for the full jogging portion, when I’m outside as opposed to on the treadmill. I know that eventually this will have to change, since you don’t come across many 5ks that happen on treadmills, but I’m still in the early stages of building up my endurance and learning how to keep a steady pace. We walked around the track almost two full times, which should have been about two miles (according to the markings on the track), but my GPS said it was about a mile and a half.

Probably my favorite part of the workout was when I turned around after jogging and saw my mom carrying Gracie. I mean, if my legs were the length of golf pencils, I’d probably give up after about a mile and a quarter too, but it was hilarious.

Then today, it was back to the early morning routine at the YWCA with Susie. Today’s workout started to kick up the expectations a bit, with two segments of jogging that lasted three minutes each. Before starting C25K, I can’t remember the last time I jogged for any length of time, much less three straight minutes, and it showed in the workout. For the first portion, I jogged the whole three minutes. For the second, I went back to a brisk walk after about two minutes. I know I just need to keep working up to it, but I want more “instant” results. This is another place where I know I tend to give up — when I’m not getting the results I think I should. I usually just figure that it must be hopeless to even try, so why bother? That’s what makes this time different, and why I think I’m more excited about going to the gym than I ever really have been before.

Looking ahead, the Pickle Chase is in less than two months! I’m definitely getting nervous about doing a whole 5k outdoors, but as I get more confident in my consistency during workouts, I’ll start to move outside again. And then over the weekend, at a fundraiser at my home congregation, one of the high schoolers and I were talking about a 5k where they throw colored powder on you at every kilometer, so you’re covered in five different colors when you finish. I looked it up, and it’s called The Color Run, and it turns out that my friend Kelly (one of my inspirations to start training for a 5k) has been wanting to do one for a while now! There’s a run in DC on September 22nd, and there seems to be a couple of people here who want to do it (plus one, maybe two of my sweet cousins!), so it looks like we’re going to try and get a team together! I’m also excited about that one because it gives me an additional four months after my first 5k to train and improve my endurance and my time. I think my ultimate goal is to be able to jog/run an entire 5k — I’m not naive enough to think that this will be the case with the Pickle Chase! But maybe for The Color Run…

Leave a Reply

