Day 4.

13 Mar

Caitlin was right about it being super dark in the mornings. This Daylight Saving Time thing is really throwing me off! Last week, when I stepped of my front porch at 6:15, the sun was rising, and when I left at 5:55 later in the week, it was light enough to walk the battlefield by the time we got to the Middle Street/Confederate Avenue intersection. This morning, when I was walking back at 6:50, it was still dark out!

I had planned to do Week 2, Day 1 yesterday, and had hoped I could do my workout at the local middle school track — a flatter surface, still with lots of give, and plenty of visibility, provided by the big lights around the track. Well, when I pulled up at 6:00, the lights were out and no one was around. I don’t normally like to skulk around schoolyards in the dark, so I came back and went back to bed. This morning, I really wanted to walk the battlefield again, but it’s not lit AT ALL back there, so that’s a definite no-go. So, I resorted to my last option: the YWCA.

I actually love the Y, and it’s incredibly convenient since it’s located on campus. Students, faculty, and staff of the seminary get a one-year, all-inclusive pass for just $30, so that’s a deal that’s hard to beat. The facility is kept up nicely, there’s a variety of machines (both cardio and strength), they have lots of classes, plus an indoor pool, racquetball courts, and basketball courts. But I have a long history of hating treadmills. The last time I remember working out on a treadmill, it was when we had one in our basement at the old house, and I vividly recall getting off the treadmill and watching the new episode of The Simple Life with Paris Hilton and Nicole Ritchie. In 2004.

I’m much more of an elliptical person, but I figured I’d give the treadmill a go this morning. And it was WAY better than I expected. Though it was harder to keep track of my distance (the C25K app estimated that I went .82 miles, but the treadmill said 1.40), it was much easier to be consistent with the jogging. I jogged for every jogging interval (as opposed to other workouts, when I’ve partially walked some), and was able to keep my pace steady, since I was controlling the speed.

Also: markedly less foot pain. I still had some, since I know that my foot is trying to roll out, but it didn’t come in until at least halfway through the workout, and it was never as “intense” as it has been, nor did I feel any shooting pains up my leg. And as an added bonus, there was lots of sweating. Strange, I know, but the whole first week of the program, I worked out in such cold weather that I never broke much of a sweat. On the treadmill, I had a short sleeved shirt on (as opposed to the three layers I’ve been wearing) and really worked up a sweat. I know this isn’t accurate, but it just felt like more of a workout than last week did.

Ultimately, I want to get back outside to train for this 5K, but since it’s going to be dark at the time I want to work out for the next month or so, I think I’ll stick to the Y for a while. This will also help me work on foot position, and seeing how I’m progressing in terms of being able to up the speed. Hopefully that will help me get to a place where, once it’s light outside again, I can be more consistent with walking and jogging, since I’m more familiar with what those normal paces feel like.

Again, thanks for all of your support, both here and on facebook. It really does mean a lot, and is critical in helping me develop the discipline I need to make it to this 5K, and to just be healthier in general!

One Response to “Day 4.”

  1. Bonnie March 13, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    You are putting a lot of thought, assessment and planning into this effort. Very cerebral. I would have expected nothing less.

Leave a Reply

