Day 2.

7 Mar

Today’s workout was great, partly because of the workout itself, but mostly because I was joined by my friend Susie! Susie and I work together, and she’s really fabulous. She has been one of the main factors in making the transition from student to staff a smooth one, and outside of work, we always have a great time together. She showed up at 5:50 this morning, and we were off. I noticed that I was less likely to walk through some of the jogging parts with Susie there — only once did I stop partway through a jog and walk. It was also nice to just have someone there who is really supportive and has absolutely no judgment about whether I walk, jog, or sit down in the middle of the road and cry. Luckily, I didn’t do the latter today, but it’s only week one.

It’s also really great to have someone along for the workout who will throw her hands up in the air in disbelief at the car that’s driving on the side of the road lined with parking spaces until the driver realizes there are people on the road and casually drifts back to the side on which you are supposed to drive. Thank God that this weekend, as Susie reminded me, is Daylight Savings Time. I’m not looking forward to losing an hour of sleep, but I’ll be glad to do my workouts in a little more light. [ETA: It was brought to my attention that it will actually be darker when I start my workouts for now, but as daylight gets longer, it should even out. I blame the lack of coffee and the endorphin rush on this oversight.]

I still experienced the pain in my left foot as I worked out today, though I tried to stay closer to the middle of the road so it wouldn’t naturally slope off to the left with the road. I really love the route I’ve gone these first two times, but I’m wondering if I need to find a route that uses primarily sidewalks (an option offered by my friend Caitlin, who is one of the most serious runners I know!), just to see if that improves the tendency to roll. If not, then I just have to think more about my foot position, but breaking a 25-year habit will be a hard one.

Well, since Susie and I got an early start, I’m going to take a shower and a nap before work. I could get used to this schedule.

2 Responses to “Day 2.”

  1. Bonnie March 7, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    Nothing better than a post-exercise shower and nap. Congratulations on Day 2!
    Love, Mom

  2. Adele March 8, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    excellent! so i just wanted to mention something, since it would influence MY running (and has in the past) — running on the sidewalk can cause more joint damage/problems because concrete has the least amount of “give” in it compared to soil/pavement/etc. i KNOW you got your sidewalk advice from a true runner, and i’m not one to talk, but i just wanted to play devil’s advocate because i’d hate for your foot (or other joints) to feel worse!

Leave a Reply

