Discipline.

4 Mar

I have never been a very disciplined person. I have never been able to just clean my room (or now, my apartment) in one fell swoop. When I was in middle and high school, I couldn’t manage to practice my flute on a regular basis. When I started taking medication to control my anxiety and depression, I had to get a pill organizer just so I could remember to take one little pill a day.

As a result, Lent is always an interesting time for me. Growing up, I would abandon things like candy, soda, or one odd year, ketchup, for the Lenten season. My junior year of college, I gave up facebook, which, if you know me, was aย huge sacrifice. But it didn’t take much to be disciplined, because my mom changed my password and I couldn’t have checked it if I had wanted to.ย Last year I gave up meat, and while I committed fully to the practice, I didn’t incorporate a spiritual aspect like I had planned.

This year, I hadn’t even thought about a Lenten discipline until the morning of Ash Wednesday. I spent the entire day thinking about what I would add or release for the next six weeks, but I kept coming up blank. Then, I was sitting on my couch that evening (as I do pretty much every evening after work…and for a good part of the weekends), and I realized that I wanted to better understand myself as a created being of God through the stewardship of the body that God gave me. There are lots of reasons for this, reasons I’ll probably get into as I (hopefully) blog my way through the next few weeks, but suffice it to say it is an area in which I haveย always had a lack of discipline.

So, starting tomorrow morning, I will begin the journey from my couch (well, more like my bed, since I’m leaving my apartment at 6:15 a.m.) to a 5k. I figured I’m a great candidate for the Couch-to-5k program, as I have no history of being a runner or even working out on a regular basis for an extended period of time. The iPhone app and some fantastic friends will serve as my accountability, and on May 12th, we will don our running shoes and paper numbers and participate in the Dillsburg Pickle Chase.

My cousin Allison told me it would be “cool to document my experience,” so I’m going to give it a go. I’m hoping to blog twice a week about how my training is going, and if I can remember, I’ll be instagramming once per run. My instagram photos usually go right to my facebook and/or twitter feeds, so you can follow there if you’re so inclined.

I’m really excited about this new venture. I have brand new running shoes and breathable socks (MANY thanks to Lindsay, Kelly, Erik, and Mark for chiming in on the twitter conversation about buying shoes, and to Dana for accompanying me on my big shoe-buying adventure and providing such excellent advice!), I’ve loaded get-me-pumped music onto my phone, and I have a great network of support behind me.

I can do this.

2 Responses to “Discipline.”

  1. Lindsay March 4, 2012 at 11:00 pm #

    Proud of you, lady! You will feel so amazing when you finish that run. There aren’t really words to describe it. My sister’s doing C25K too for a race we’re running in April. It’s tough, but she’s making her way through it!

  2. Adele March 5, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    jules, this is awesome! what a great lenten resolve! i’ve always admired your ability to kick Lent’s butt, so i KNOW you got this! heck, maybe you can even make me like running…

Leave a Reply

